The 2024 Denver Post Colorado State Spelling Bee is on Saturday, March 9th at Sturm Hall on the University of Denver’s campus.

Congratulations to the following students who scored the highest on the spelling and vocabulary test, and will be advancing to the oral rounds on Saturday:

Madhvi Chittoor – 8th – North Arvada Middle School

Nikhil Ganta – 4th – Traut Core Elementary        

Rebecca Jerison – 6th – Challenge To Excellence

Ekansh Mohanty – 5th – Coronado Elementary

Aditi Muthukumar – 8th – Hulstrom Options K-8

Aadhya Muthukumar – 5th – Hulstrom Options K-8

Akshay Naidu – 8th – Homestake Peak School

Devika Nair – 8th – Kinard Core Knowledge

Noah Owens – 8th – Fruita 8/9 School

Vedanth Raju – 6th – Aurora Quest K-8

Anirudh Rao – 6th – Stem Middle & High School

Sahil Sainani – 5th – Hulstrom Options K-8

Anika Sharma – 8th – Rocky Heights Middle

Evan Woods – 5th – Rolling Hills Elementary

Please join us in wishing all of the Spelling Bee finalists good luck!

For questions – please contact Spelling Bee Director, Carol Cline at


Each year more than 250 top spellers from across Colorado participate in the virtual portion of the Colorado State Spelling Bee to earn a spot on the stage for the Oral Finals of the Bee. These Oral Rounds take place in March at the University of Denver – where the top spellers compete for the title of Colorado State Spelling Bee Champion. This 84 year-old tradition, originally sponsored by the Rocky Mountain News, encourages and rewards our young people’s love of learning and competition. The winner of the Colorado State Spelling Bee moves on to represent Colorado in the Scripps National Spelling Bee.

The 2023 Denver Post Colorado State Spelling Bee champion, Aditi Muthukumar, a 7th grader from Hulstrom Options K-8 School in Northglenn, won in Round 53 after she spelled “hylozoism” correctly. The 2nd place winner was Vikram Raju, an 8th grader from Aurora Quest K-8 and the 2022 champion who placed 2nd in the national competition, and 3rd place went to Owen Harr, an 8th grader from Jefferson County Open School.

Click here to see the past Colorado State Spelling Bee champions.